Quick Delicious Carrot Salad

photo (1)

When I was a teenager my Mum used to make a grated carrot and cheese salad with mixed nuts and seeds. I loved it so much and would eat it every day! When I cut out dairy from my diet I wanted to create a replacement for this salad which would be equally as tasty minus the cheese. My new improved version is better and you can add more or less of everything in the recipe according to taste! (I always add more cumin as I love it).

Carrots are full of nutrients such as Vitamin A, K, C, B6, B3, B1, B2 and E, Biotin, Folate, manganese, potassium and fibre.

Recipe:

Serves 2

2 Cups of Carrots

Sprinkling of Trail Mix (seed mix)

4 Tbsp Raisins

2 Tbsp Ground Almonds

2 Tsp Cumin Seeds

1 Lemon (just the juice)

2 Tbsp Tahini

1 Tbsp Tamari (wheat free soy sauce)

1 Tbsp of Olive Oil (extra virgin, cold pressed)

Himalayan Salt and freshly ground pepper

Method:

Grate the carrots into a big bowl. Sprinkle over the trail mix, cumin seeds, ground almonds and raisins. In another small bowl mix together the rest of the ingredients for the dressing. Pour over carrot mixture, stir well and serve! I like to add an avocado to this as well.

I hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

